Château la Tour de l'évêque

LE BLANC DE BLANCS

ORGANIC WHITE WINE 2020

TERROIR

AOP Côtes de Provence.
In the hilly area of the Maurettes the land consists of shaley soils derived from siluraian sages phyllites near Hyères, and Permian red sandstone.

GRAPE VARIETIES

78% Rolle, 22% Sémillon.
Average age of the vines : 25 years old.

VINTAGE

A rainy fall allowed the water reserves from the soil to be replenished. The winter was soft and dry, leading to an advance of the vegetative cycle with early budbreak starting on March 11th. The vines located in Pierrefeu suffered from a historic frost on March 26th. We had to wait until May to record milder temperatures. Flowering began on May 13th on the Grenaches in Hyères and it went normally, with no noticeable coulure. The hot and dry weather of July, combined with the good water reserves, contributed to the good development of the vines during summer. The harvest started on August 17th and finished on September 8th.

GROWING

The vineyards are worked by hand, using natural animal fertilizers. We do not use any chemical weed killers. Buds are trimmed and a green harvest is practice to purposefully limit yields. A part of the vineyard is plowed with horses. The area between the rows of vines is grassed over with cereals.

WINEMAKING

All grapes are harvested manually, sorted, not de-stemmed and directly loaded into an hydraulic Champenois Coquard press without crushing. The grapes are lightly pressed so as to obtain optimum delicacy and fragrance from the very heart of the grapes. Wines ferment in temperature-controlled stainless steel, gravity-fed cuves. The wine is bottled at the Château la Tour de l’Evêque.

TASTING NOTES

The appearance offers a lemon-yellow colour with silvery tinges. The nose is clean, pronounced, with peachy primary aromas, completed by golden apples on flowery background, reminding the honeysuckle. There is a certain delicacy coming with these fruity and airy layers, however with high definition and a lot of freshness. The palate is dry, with crispy, citrusy acidity balanced by the silky mouthfeel. The flavours remind the pomelo and its zests, together with aromas from the nose, lingering on the long finish. Can drink now or up to 3-5 years, paired with a sea bream ceviche, peaches and quinoa.

— Julia & Bruno Scavo

REWARDS

UN BLANC SEC AU GOÛT NET D’AMANDE ET DE MELON DOUBLÉ
D’UN SOUPCON DE BOIS NEUF ET D’UNE TOUCHE D’AMERTUME EN FINALE.
POISSONS BLANCS ET COQUILLAGES.

Le Devoir

UN PROVENCAL DONT LA VINOSITÉ DÉLICATE ET
LES DOUCES SAVEURS DE GARIGUE NOUS APAISENT.

Revue des Vins de France

MÉDAILLE D’ARGENT

Decanter

NOTE : 91/100 Points

Château la Tour de l'évêque

LE BLANC DE BLANCS

VIN BIOLOGIQUE BLANC 2020

TERROIR

AOP Côtes de Provence.
Dans la zone des collines des Maurettes, s’étendent des terrains schisteux des phyllades d’Hyères et de grés rouge du permien.

CÉPAGES

78% Rolle, 22% Sémillon.
Age moyen des vignes : 25 ans.

MILLÉSIME

L’automne a été arrosé, les réserves se sont donc refaites. L’hiver a été sec et doux, entrainant une avance du cycle végétatif avec un débourrement précoce à partir du 11 mars. Le vignoble de Pierrefeu a subi un gel historique le 26 mars. Il a fallu attendre le mois de mai pour enregistrer des températures plus douces. La floraison a débuté le 13 mai sur les Grenaches à Hyères et elle s’est déroulée normalement, sans coulure notable. Le temps chaud et sec du mois de juillet, ainsi que les bonnes réserves hydriques ont profité au bon développement de la vigne. Les vendanges ont débuté le 17 août et se sont terminées le 8 septembre.

CULTURE

Labour au cheval, travail du sol traditionnel mécanique et manuel, sans herbicides. Enherbement de céréales après la vendange.

VINIFICATION

Vendanges manuelles en bacs. Tri sur pied. Vinification par gravité en pressurage direct, sans foulage, dans un pressoir hydraulique Coquard de type Champenois pour obtenir un blanc fin et délicat. Fermentation et conservation en cuves inox sous température contrôlée. Embouteillé au Château de la Tour de l’Evêque.

NOTES DE DÉGUSTATION

Dans son écrin jaune citron aux accents argentés, le vin montre un nez pur, intense aux arômes de pêche, pomme golden sur fond floral de chèvrefeuille. L’aromatique est suave, cependant avec une bonne définition, ainsi que beaucoup de fraîcheur primesautière. La fraîcheur se ressent également au palais, animée et concordante avec un toucher soyeux, ou s’insère des nuances citronnées, de pomélo, avec leurs zestes croquants. Les parfums du nez reviennent également, se prolongeant avec beaucoup de délicatesse sur la finale longue. A apprécier dans l’immédiat, il peut aussi se livrer sur 3-5 ans. Accordez-lui un céviche de daurade aux pêches et quinoa.

— Julia & Bruno Scavo

RÉCOMPENSES

UN BLANC SEC AU GOÛT NET D’AMANDE ET DE MELON DOUBLÉ
D’UN SOUPCON DE BOIS NEUF ET D’UNE TOUCHE D’AMERTUME EN FINALE.
POISSONS BLANCS ET COQUILLAGES.

Le Devoir

UN PROVENCAL DONT LA VINOSITÉ DÉLICATE ET
LES DOUCES SAVEURS DE GARIGUE NOUS APAISENT.

Revue des Vins de France

MÉDAILLE D’OR

Berliner Trophy

MÉDAILLE D’ARGENT

Decanter ASIA

NOTE : 90/100 Points

MÉDAILLE DE BRONZE

Decanter

NOTE : 91/100 Points